Oaklawn Coronavirus Hotline (269) 789-7614

Oaklawn Benefit Auction - March 4, 2021. Click for info about this year's virtual event.

Winners announced after Oaklawn's annual Pet, Bike & Wagon Parade

MARSHALL – The names of nine overall winners were announced Saturday after the 2015 Oaklawn Hospital Pet, Bike & Wagon Parade.

The parade stepped off on Independence Day morning at Brooks Memorial Fountain, launching holiday events at Marshall’s Fountain Circle.

Ribbons were presented to all participants, plus first-, second- and third-place honors in each of the chief categories, as follows:

Pets: First – Greta Hetke; second – Adrian Johnson; third – Ryan Martin, Kylie Shedd, Brooklyn Sims and Alyssa McGillis.

Bikes: First – Elizabeth Heatwole; second – Sam Alexandrian; third – Mallory Flanders

Wagons: First – Jude Sunnock and Selah Eash; second – Violet Groeneveld; third – Grace Rife

Winners were selected by a team of judges that included Mayor Jack Reed and his wife Lisa Reed; Patty and Kelly Williams; and Oaklawn physicians Laura Pence, M.D. And Jamie Schnoor, M.D.

Dave and Vicki DeGraw of Marshall served as co-chairmen of the event, and David DeGraw was the announcer during the proceedings.

Theresa Shippell of Oaklawn’s Development Department, organizer of this year’s parade, said the turnout was as large as it ever has been, and said the warm, sunny weather may have contributed to the widespread participation.

“This is classic small-town America on the Fourth of July, and we love it,” said volunteer worker Alicia Beck.

Children ages 3 through 12 were invited to create costumes and decorations that reflected the Independence Day celebration. All animals had to be properly caged or leashed, and all bike riders properly helmeted.

The parade was followed at the Fountain Circle by a lunch featuring barbecued chicken, hotdogs and ice cream, and a performance by the Marshall Rotary Community Band.