Now Scheduling Primary Care Appointments Online. Book Now.

Dr. Hassan Beiz named Oaklawn's Physician of the Year for 2014

MARSHALL –Hassan Beiz, M.D., was honored Tuesday evening as Oaklawn Hospital’s Physician of the Year for 2014.

The announcement came during a gathering of Oaklawn staff members at the Franke Center for the Arts. The event also included the presentation of service awards to 99 employees and the annual Oaklawn Quality Award.

Beiz, an Inpatient Specialist, joined the Oaklawn Medical Group in 2011 and is currently the Hospitalist Medical Director.

“Wow, I am shocked by this. It is an honor just to be considered,” a surprised Beiz said Tuesday night after receiving the award.

Beiz told the gathering that the award actually honored his compatriots.

“This award belongs to all of the departments that help me do my job every day. I also want to thank my fellow Hospitalists that have stuck with the Hospitalist vision of providing the highest quality and compassion possible” he said.

Ginger Williams, the hospital’s President and CEO, praised Dr. Beiz as a “wonderful selection for Physician of the Year. His genuine kindness and compassion are equaled only by his clinical excellence and dedication to the care of his patients,” Williams said.

Beiz is the fourth recipient of Oaklawn’s Physician of the Year Award joining Doctors José Valle, Thomas Neidlinger and Summer Liston in the yearly honor.

Dr. Beiz received his Bachelor’s degree from Wayne State University in Detroit, where he graduated on the Dean’s list, and his Medical degree from Ross University School of Medicine in Portsmouth, Dominica. His residency in Primary Care Internal Medicine was at the University of Connecticut and he is board certified in Internal Medicine. In his spare time he enjoys hiking, going to the gym, watching movies and spending time with family and friends.

As this year’s honored physician, Beiz will direct a $500 donation to a charity of his choice, and his name and photograph will be placed on a plaque displayed in the hospital’s main entrance.

The award was established to recognize a physician who has demonstrated their commitment to Oaklawn Hospital’s culture and values, and to the community. To be nominated, a physician must have been a member of Oaklawn’s active medical staff for at least two years, and may be nominated by hospital staff, medical staff or members of the Board of Directors.

Members of Oaklawn’s Medical Executive Committee made the final selection, based on nominations received from other Oaklawn employees and associates.

Comments made by those who nominated Beiz for the honor included the following excerpts:

“…calls to check on patients and/or looks up results while not scheduled for work. He is also known to call the patient and their family to check in while “off duty.”

“…is very passionate regarding success in providing high quality patient care and optimizing the health and well-being of our community.”

“…plays a vital role in ensuring that all services across the continuum work together to meet the needs of our patients and families at Oaklawn Hospital.”

“…appreciates others for their uniqueness and background, life experiences, and is open to outside

“…approaches patients and their families with such respect — caring for patients while also protecting and respecting their dignity.”

“…is a mentor to all of us. He demonstrates this by providing educational opportunities to those
who ask, and is approachable without fail.”

Another highlight of the program at the Franke Center was the presentation of service awards to 99 employees for specific levels of service and the annual Oaklawn Quality Award which recognizes teams or individuals that have gone above and beyond in Oaklawn’s continuous efforts to improve the quality of care that is delivered to patients. The awards were given to:

35 years: Martha Burns

30 years: Tamarra Allington, Virginia Garrison and Jess Kingston

25 years: Heather Beck, Martha Goben, Melbra Jerrell, Timi Perry and Mary Shoup

20 years: Sara Birch, Holly Hawkins, Barbara Keyes and John Tobin

15 years: Sara Andrews, Amanda Dwyer, Thomas Farchone, Kristine Harinck, Margaret Hurst, Stacey Johnson, Margaret Jones, Rose Mackey, Trina Stevens, Morad Tehrani, Cindy Whitney, Holly Wolverton and Stephanie Zacharski

10 years: Jessica Arnold, Marie Barton, Julie Colburn, Christine Condon, Kain Flynn, Melissa France, Fred Ham, Janna Harris, Jennifer Huff, Sherry Joers-Hicks, Meggen Kensler, Erin Loew, Clarence Robinson, Barbara Rowse, Jason Rummell and Jennifer Stapleton

Five years: Cynthia Abacan, Mae Bennett, Karen Bischoff, Carole Capella, Charlene Cole, William Cole, Judy Cole, Lynette Coppernoll, Jessica Crandall, Susan Damerow, Wendy Davis, Stephen Durant, Sheryl Edwards, Leesa Frey, Alcides Gil-Acosta, Amanda Gipson, Candice Graves, Sylvia Green, Dawnette Hantz, Cynthia Harr, Melinda Holliday, Sherri Hough, Shaun Houseman, Deanna Hutchins, Sarah Iverson, Vicki Kellogg, Roger Kilbourn, Melissa Klepper, Brittani Leach, Jaclyn Liston-Crandall, James Maher, Rosemary Maxon, Kathleen Moon, Anna Neff, Vickie Niehaus, Penny Nunn, Debra Osborne, Faaron Price, Brenna Riley, Cherryl Ruddock, Terri Sabatini, George Seifert, Michelle Shoup, Matthew Siebert, Melissa Sims, Tamera Starks, Sheri Stricker, Jennifer Summer, Christopher Tapscott, Jourdan Valentine, Jose Valle, Carol Waite, Joan Wentworth, Kimberly Westlake, Janine Whaley and Melissa Wooden.

The 2014 Quality Award winner was the Endoscopy team lead by Kristin Sims, Deb Smith, Mary Shoup and Sharon Wixson.

The 2014 Quality Award runner up was the CAUTI team whose Core team members were Kristin Sims, Deb Smith, Mary Shoup and Sharon Wixson.

Related Services