Oaklawn Coronavirus Hotline (269) 789-7614

Thank you for supporting Oaklawn during the COVID-19 pandemic. Click here to see a list of recent donors.

2015 Oaklawn Hospital Auxiliary scholarship awards announced

MARSHALL – The Oaklawn Hospital Auxiliary has selected seven area residents to receive $750 scholarships to apply to their educational advancement.


This year’s recipients are:


– Roxanne Kudwa of St. Johns, a physical therapist employed at Oaklawn Hospital. Kudwa intends to use the funds to complete a transitional doctor of physical therapy program at either the University of Michigan-Flint or Northeastern University.

– Hannah Lasky of Marshall, an employee of Oaklawn Hospital. Lasky is a student at Western Michigan University and intends to use the funds to help complete her studies at WMU to become a doctor of audiology.

– Matthew Moore of Olivet, son of Susan and Darren Moore. Currently a student at Kellogg Community College and Olivet College, Moore intends to apply the scholarship money to his work at KCC in the emergency medical technician-paramedic program.

– Kate Samra of Marshall, daughter of Becky and Matthew Samra. She has been accepted to both the University of Michigan and Kalamazoo College, and intends to apply the funds to her work in the field of pre-medicine and environment sciences, with the goal of becoming a dermatologist.


– Andrew Stevens of Marshall, son of Trina and Martin Stevens. A student at KCC, Stevens intends to use the funds to continue his education in the field of athletic training at Eastern Michigan University.


– Taylor Thompson of Albion, daughter of Wendy and Glen Thompson. She is a certified nursing assistant at Oaklawn, and intends to apply the funds to continue her work on a bachelor of nursing degree at KCC.


– Alexi Vasbinder of Jackson, daughter of Kaiti and Scott Vasbinder. A student at the University of Michigan, Vasbinder intends to use the funds to further her work at Michigan State University to obtain her bachelor of science in nursing.

The seven recipients were chosen from a field of 19 applicants, and were selected primarily on the criteria of motivation, desire to pursue a degree in a health-care field and evidence of good citizenship and writing skills. Financial need was not a consideration.


Last year’s recipients were Jessica Bush, Karin M. DeGraw and Meredith Carrel, all of Marshall; Tyler Andrews of Charlotte; Jaylynne McComb of Jackson; and Logan Otis of Burlington.


The auxiliary welcomes use of the scholarship funds at any educational institution. This is the fifth year that the scholarship program has been offered.


The auxiliary raises the scholarship funds throughout the year through sales at the hospital gift shop, and fundraising events such as popcorn sales, annual Bunco and “purse Bingo” parties and a holiday bazaar in November.